Lawrence Corey, MD

Larry Corey, MD

Lawrence Corey is past president of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and a member of its Vaccine and Infectious Disease, Public Health Sciences and Clinical Research divisions. He is a professor of Medicine and Laboratory Medicine at the University of Washington, was head of the Virology Division at the University of Washington from 1978 to 2010, and led the AIDS Clinical Trials Group (ACTG) from 1987 to 1992. He has been Principal Investigator of the HVTN since its inception in 1999.

An internationally renowned expert in virology, viral immunology and vaccine development, Corey’s research has transformed the way we manage patients globally. With Nobel Laureate Dr. Gertrude Elion, he was the first to demonstrate that an antiviral compound, acyclovir, specific for a viral enzyme could be safely and effectively administered to control a chronic viral infection. These studies provided the foundation for the subsequent development of antiviral therapy for HIV and hepatitis viruses. Under his leadership at the ACTG, AZT was shown to reduce maternal fetal transmission; providing the impetus for the introduction of antiretrovirals to avert pediatric HIV infections internationally. He pioneered the use of viral load as predictors of clinical benefit and his studies demonstrating the early administration of combination antiretroviral therapy provided the strategy to reduce HIV morbidity and mortality globally. Corey’s work in HSV-2 established the framework for understanding the herpes pandemic and its role in HIV acquisition and progression.

Corey received his B.S. and M.D. from the University of Michigan and his infectious diseases training at the University of Washington. He is a member of the US National Academy of Medicine and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, was the recipient of the Parran Award for his work in HSV-2, the American Society of Microbiology Cubist Award for his work on antivirals, and the University of Michigan Medical School Distinguished Alumnus Award. He is one of the most highly cited biomedical researchers in the last 20 years and is the author, coauthor or editor of over 1000 scientific publications.